Irish Language Programme Awardees 2018/19

October 23, 2018

Since 2009, with funding from the National Lottery and the Department of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, ICUF has annually administered a number of awards to support the development of the Irish language in Canada.

Teagascóirí Gaeilge are appointed each year to teach Irish in our partner universities, and surrounding communities.  We are delighted to have the University of Alberta and the University of Prince Edward Island join us this year as partners.

The awards for 2018/19 were awarded to the following individuals who were appointed as Teagascóirí Gaeilge to the universities listed below:

And in conjunction with our partner universities and Oireachtas Gaeilge Cheanada, a number of scholarships are provided to Canadian scholars of the Irish language to attend an intensive summer residential Irish Language course in the National University of Ireland, Galway.  Those awarded for Summer 2018 are:

St. Thomas University, Fredericton:                                                      
Autumn MacDougall
Christine Campbell
Alicia Finnigan

Concordia University, Montreal:
Erin Hynes
Chelsea Lacasse-Gobeille
Alexis Kelly
Doroteya Borisova

St. Michael’s College, University of Toronto
Shannon Blachar
Benten Tinkler
Rachel McLean

Saint Mary’s University, Halifax:
Kieran Walker
Kenzie Roach
Kelsey Everett

University of Ottawa, Ontario:
Solomiya Ostapyk
Garrett Ryan
Haleigh Conway

University of Prince Edward Island:
Becky Mullan

Oireachtas Gaeilge Cheanada:
Kathleen Kirkham

Canadian Irish Language awardees from the University of Ottawa, Haleigh Conway, Solomiya Ostapyk and Garrett M. Ryan, with Minister McHugh and James Kelly, CEO ICUF.