ICUF 2012 Awards Ceremony

December 1, 2012

It was our great honor to have Minister for State for the Gaeltacht, Dinny McGinley T.D. and Minister of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht Jimmy Deenihan T.D attend the 2012 Dobbin and Irish Language Awards Ceremony,  which took place in the Residence of His Excellency Loyola Hearn, Canadian Ambassador to Ireland. It was a wonderful occasion, and we are deeply grateful to Ambassador and Mrs. Hearn, Maria O’Reilly and all the staff at the Embassy and Residence who made this such great occasion.

Dobbin Scholarships were presented to the following Irish Scholars (for more information on individual scholars’ research visit the “scholars page‘;

  • Ruairi MacNamara, NUIG, researching in Institut de Recherche d’Hydro-Quebec
  • Karishmeh Felfeli UCD, researching in Library & Archives Canada & Canadian Broadcasting Corporation
  • Thomas Conlon UCD, researching in Simon Fraser University
  • Martin O’Halloran NUIG, researching in University of Manitoba
  • David Kenny Teagasc/UCD, researching in University of Alberta
  • Brendan Gildea UCD, researching in University of Victoria
  • Susan Spillane TCD, researching in McGill University
  • Peter Fitzmaurice NUIG, researching in York University
  • Stephen Byrne UCC, researching in Dalhousie University
  • Deirdre Raftery UCD, researching in University of Toronto

Dobbin Scholarships were awarded, in absetia, to the following Canadian Scholars, who will be travelling to Ireland in 2012 /2013;

  • Maria Aristizabal, University of British Columbia, researching in UCD
  • Jennifer Boger University of Toronto, researching inUniversity of Ulster
  • Eric Guiry University of British Columbia, researching inInstitute of Technology Sligo
  • Trevor Hanson University of New Brunswick, researching inTCD
    Robyn Ibey University of Waterloo, researching inTCD
  • Jonathan McGavock University of Manitoba, researching in ESRI
  • Shannon Russell University of British Columbia, researching inUCC
  • Sandra Timsic University of Saskatchewan, researching in UCD
  • Zang Yongyuan McGill University, researching in UCD

Irish Language awards were presented to the following individuals who were appointed to as Teagascóirí Gaeilge for 2012-13 to the universities listed;

  • Seán Mac Risteaird, St. Thomas University, Fredericton
  • Seaghan Mac an tSionnaigh Concordia University, Montreal
  • Noel P. Ó Murchadha St Michael’s College, University of Toronto
  • Shane ó Ruairc, St. Mary’s University, Halifax, Nova Scotia
  • Conor Glynn, Memorial University Newfoundland
  • Aodan O Cearbhaill, St. Francis Xavier University, Nova Scotia
  • Eoin Ó Catháin, University of Ottawa

To view photographs of the ceremony, click here