Signing of the MOU between ICUF and the Ireland Fund of Canada

February 16, 2010

In 2004, the mission of ICUF was recognised and supported through the signing of signed a Memorandum of Understanding between ICUF and the Ireland Fund of Canada.

This MOU, for the promotion of academic exchanges between Ireland and Canada, was signed in the Lester Pearson Building in Ottawa on March 18, 2004, and it inaugurated the bilateral scholarships awards programme of 2004, when, for the first time in the history of the two countries, scholarships were awarded to scholars traveling in both directions, to support research into projects which have relevance to both Ireland and Canada.

Pictured above at the signing are, from left to right; Dr. Craig Dobbin O.C., Chairman (Canada) of ICUF, Professor John Kelly, Director of ICUF, Ms Eleanor McGrath, Director of Ireland Fund of Canada. Back, from left to right; Taoiseach of Ireland Bertie Ahern, Prime Minister of Canada Paul Martin, Premier of Newfoundland & Labrador Danny Williams.

To read the MOU, click here. To read the MOU in French, click here.